Revolushn – Further!! [Album]

Revolushn began as a studio band that played songs written by No (guitar) and Dekay (drums). The group recorded enough songs to put out the album The Freshman, which received critical acclaim, airplay, and modest sales. Several personnel changes and dozens of shows later, the band got serious, stopped playing shows, and began the writing and recording process for the next album. From that point, it took 16 months to get to the release of the second Revolushn album called Further!!.

The release date of September of 2016 was postponed because No and Dekay just weren’t feeling it. They started writing again.

During this period, No met Guinevere Q – No Big Fucking Deal (bass, vocals) and Young Sun (guitar, vocals) on the Open Mic scene in San Francisco. They hit it off quickly and both agreed to join forces with No, Dekay, and Schubert Ola (keyboard, vocals), who had worked with Revolushn since 2015.

The last song to be added to Further!! was written in Thailand in January of 2017.  Then came the final tracking that included the vocals. No calls this part of the process “the pure torture period”.

“I had to come up with melodies, the tone, and feel for nine songs all at once because I was lazy and procrastinated ‘til the last minute. It took dozens of bottles of wine and two months working everyday to get there. Then I had to go in and sing it all over again sober. The songs had great feel and melodies, but it sounded like a drunken sailor was the lead singer,” says No.  

The results are very impressive.  The nine songs on Further!! have a cohesion that lasts from the opening bars of the first song and title track, Further!!, to the closing chorus of the final song, All Is As It Should Be. Young Sun and NO form an intricate wall of guitars that move the music beyond the confines of a regular rock band.  Guinevere Q plays lyrical and solid bass lines while still locking in with Dekay and holding down the fort as the guitars fly. Dekay’s drums shine on this collection. The rhythms and sounds that he creates go from John Bonham big to intricate tribal patterns that never lose beat or connection with the groove. As an example, Dekay played the break in the song Dog Gets High with his hands. Schubert O fills out the sound with finely woven sonic textures and piano riffs that hide and shine at the same time. This is an impressive feat given the heavy guitars and drums.

Further!! was produced by Aaron Connor (Bone Thugs-N-Harmony, Belinda Carlyle, Ed Sheeran) and recorded at Cypher Sound Studio in Kansas City.  

“We met with Aaron during the Grammy’s and we played him some stuff that we liked. He listened and then pulled out his favorites list and sure enough, it had lots of stuff we just loved,” said Dekay.
The songs on Further!! range from the heavy, guitar-based psych rock to the beautiful waltz tempo of You will Go. Revolushn has a range that in lesser hands would dilute the bands style, but Further!! sounds like one band playing at one show and crushing it. The live feel of the album is refreshing and intimate.  

Connor’s production is a marvel that somehow found the balance between chaotic and precise. The songs are at times jarring and the lyrics can make you want to look away while at the same time drawing you in. This is a band to watch.

This latest work from Revolushn is compelling and worth listening to. Several times.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *